AAAFund supports the nominations of Katherine Tai and Neera Tanden to the Biden Administration

Contact: AAAFund Media,


DECEMBER 17, 2020

WASHINGTON, DC – The Board of Asian American Action Fund (AAAFund) released the following statement in reaction to the President-elect Joseph R. Biden’s recent nomination of Katherine Tai as the United States Trade Representative and Neera Tanden as the director of the Office of Management and Budget. Both women would make history as the first women of color to hold their respective positions. 

“We enthusiastically support President-elect Biden’s nomination of Katherine Tai and Neera Tanden. Together, they are the two highest ranking AAPI officials announced in the next administration, and they will serve at an important critical juncture in American and global history. With the deterioration of our partnerships abroad, worsening impacts of global climate change, and dire state of the COVID-19 pandemic, it is critical that our leaders surround themselves with qualified people. Ms. Tai, as our United States Trade Representative, will ensure our trade deals benefit hard-working Americans. And at the Office of Management and Budget, Ms. Tanden will push to revitalize our economy into one that benefits working families.  We urge Congress to confirm them both without delay.

In addition to these nominations, we urge President-elect Biden to nominate an AAPI Cabinet Secretary. For over 20 years, at least one AAPI Secretary presided over a federal agency in each administration. We support qualified candidates such as Julie Su as our next Secretary of Labor. 

The current nominations, along with a nomination of an AAPI Cabinet Secretary, will ensure that the Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community’s voices will be heard at the highest levels of our federal government.”

Neera Tanden’s biography can be found here.
Katherine Tai’s biography can be found here

Unless clearly identified as statements of the AAA-Fund, the views, opinions, analyses, and assumptions expressed in each blog or clearinghouse post are those of the author or contributor alone, and not those of the AAA-Fund.